Berkshire Community College

The Berkshire Conservation District Environmental Science Scholarship assists a BCC student enrolled in the Environmental Sciences program.  The recipient of this award has demonstrated professionalism, as well as a dedication and interest in pursuing a career in natural sciences.  To contribute to this fund, please visit and choose “Berkshire Conservation District” as the designation.

Award Recipients

  • 2020 Madisyn Manzella
  • 2019 Roberta Hayes
  • 2018 Sarah Deming
  • 2017 Dylan LaChance
  • 2016 Marion Brooks
  • 2015 Monica Stegemann
  • 2014 Kessa Battaini
  • 2013 Kessa Battaini
  • 2012 Matthew Ferrara
  • 2011 No award given
  • 2010 Michael Hitchcock
  • 2009 Glenn Lynde
  • 2008 Mark Bushey & Gabrielle Graham
  • 2007 Nathan Joyner
  • 2006 Michael Gromacki
  • 2005 Brett Dalzell
  • 2004 Christin Holmes
  • 2003 Julie Field
  • 2002 Andrew Liebenow
  • 2001 Daniel Shears

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

The UMass Adrian “Beau” Meyer Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior student majoring in forestry in the College of Natural Sciences to assist with educational expenses. Preference is given to students from Berkshire County. Adrian “Beau” Meyer was a supervisor and chair of the Berkshire Conservation District who cared about protecting natural resources in the Berkshires. In addition, he was chair of the State Commission for the Conservation of Soil, Water and Related Resources and chair of the Berkshire-Pioneer Resource Conservation and Development Council. When Beau passed away at the end of 2014, friends and supporters honored his memory with their donations. To contribute to this fund and help create the next generation of foresters and natural resource professionals, please visit

Award Recipients:

  • 2020 Josiah Gummeson & Sean Rabbitt
  • 2019 Ben Vanheynigen
  • 2018 Ben Vanheynigen
  • 2017 No scholarship awarded
  • 2016 Eric Brown
  • 2015 Keith Goulet
  • 2014 Jacob Macko
  • 2013 Tyler Weinstein